Betýnung- (Conclusion)

I looked high, and I looked low. Alfred was an amazing person. He was once said to have been blessed with sickness in life. It gave him a sense of empathy, and understanding that Kings before, and most afterwards would lack. I have to say it, Alfred was GREAT. Unless I can find another source in my studies as they continue into the University of California, Berkeley; I will maintain that Alfred was deserving of the title “great”. He promoted literacy in a time where there was none. He cared for his people, and united them to fight a great foe (one of few instances of nationalism working-out). He believed in translating the Bible and most works into English, which in its time was a bottom language according to Tombs’ The English and Their History; which is something that wouldn’t catch-on fully until long after Alfred’s time. He is a large part of the reason we speak English, he is also the reason England looks as it does; culturally and genetically. I want to say he wasn’t great, and that the History books were burned to make him look good, but I cannot find any source to back that up. However, I will be studying more on him and what happened to the Danelaw in a new blog page that I will provide a link for in June. My real studying will begin when i get access to the UC library. Hold on to your hats fellow nerds, it’s about to get ridiculous.

One thought on “Betýnung- (Conclusion)

  1. I never thought I’d see the day where Jimi praised a king, In light of this high praise perhaps it is time I rethink my opinion of Alfred being little more than the equivalent to a successful Roman Frontier governor (due to the demesne he ruled) and more as an equivalent to a Charlemagne.

    Like

Leave a comment